

## INDIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY BHUBANESWAR ARGUL, BHUBANESWAR-752050

## PRESS NOTE FOR DISSEMINATION

## IIT Bhubaneswar to celebrate its 8th Annual Convocation 2019

<u>20<sup>th</sup> Sept, 2019, Bhubaneswar:</u> IIT Bhubaneswar is all set to celebrate its 8<sup>th</sup> Annual Convocation at its permanent campus at 11:00 a.m. on 21<sup>st</sup> Sept, 2019. **Dr. K.Sivan, Chairman, Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO)** will grace the occasion as the Chief Guest and address the Convocation. **Prof. R. V. Raja Kumar**, Director and Chairman, Board of Governors of the Institute will award the degrees to the successful students and address the audience.

During the Convocation, the Institute will confer degrees to 32 Ph. D., 105 M. Tech., 67 M.Sc. and 152 B. Tech. students. It is a proud moment for the graduating students, their parents, the faculty members, staff members and the administration of the institute.

The President of India Gold Medal will be awarded to Shri. Shrohan Mohapatra, of the Computer Science and Engineering for best academic performance among the entire outgoing B. Tech. batch of students.

The **Director's Gold Medal** will be awarded to **Shri. Rahul Das** of the School of Infrastructure for best academic performance among the entire outgoing M. Tech. batch of students.

The **Director's Gold Medal** will also be awarded to **Shri. Anubhav Nath (Chemistry)** of the School of Basic Sciences for best academic performance among the entire outgoing M. Sc. batch of students.

For the best academic performance in the respective Schools, the Institute Silver Medals will be awarded to Shri. Shrohan Mohapatra, Ms. Gonuguntla Neeharika, Shri Indira Singh Dhakar, Shri Gaurav Vishal and Shri. Chaudhari Hrishikesh Umesh among the outgoing B. Tech. batch of students.

For the best academic performance in the respective Schools, the **Institute Silver Medals** will be awarded to **Shri. Rahul Das, Shri. Abhishek Parida, Ms. Srija Mukherjee, Shri. Ananta Dutta Shri. P Abhishek and Shri. Spandan Dey** among the outgoing M. Tech. batch of students.

For the best academic performance in the respective Schools, the **Institute Silver Medals** will be awarded to **Shri Anubhav Nath, Ms. Sharmistha Dey, Shri. Kaushik Nageswar Jaiswal, Shri. Sujay Nandi** among the outgoing M. Sc. batch of students.

Currently the Institute has 2133 Students (B Tech - 1037, B Tech & M Tech-312, M Tech -334, MSc-155, Ph D – 295) and 137 full-time faculty members. In addition, the Institute has 25 officers and about 81 supporting staff. The institute currently has 7 academic schools. It offers B Tech, M Tech, Dual Degree (B Tech + M Tech) and M.Sc programs respectively.

Prof. R.V. Raja Kumar, Director of the Institute addressed a press conference on 20<sup>th</sup> about the convocation and presented the above information.